How to reclaim space after upgrading to Windows 11 2022 Update


The upgrade process to any version of Windows 11 (such as the 2022 Update) usually creates a copy of the previous installation as a precaution. If a critical error or compatibility problem occurs, then the system has a way to roll back to the previous settings.

The caveat is that the copy will be stored on your computer (inside the “Windows.old” folder) even after the upgrade is completed without problems, wasting a lot of valuable space. If you delete these files, you can free up somewhere in the 20GB range, which may not be significant for devices with large drives, but it could be an issue for devices with limited storage.





Source link